SIAM’s new president is Force Motors chairman, Dr Abhay Firodia

The executive committee of the Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers (SIAM), the apex body of the Indian automobile industry, has elected Dr Abhay Firodia, chairman, Force Motors, as its new president.

Dr Firodia succeeds Vinod K Dasari, managing director and CEO of Ashok Leyland. Dr Firodia was earlier the president of SIAM in 1990-91 and 1991-92.

SIAM’s executive committee also elected Rajan Wadhera, president – Automotive Sector, Mahindra & Mahindra, as vice-president and Kenichi Ayukawa, MD and CEO, Maruti Suzuki India, as Treasurer, SIAM for the year 2017-18.

Dr Firodia, who was conferred an honorary degree of ‘Doctor of Science’ by the Rajiv Gandhi Technological University, Madhya Pradesh, is also the recipient of the ‘Jain Ratna’ Award and the ‘Cross of the Order of Merit’ of the Federal Republic of Germany (FRG) for his exemplary services in bringing about closer business relations between India and the FRG.

Dr Abhay Firodia, an auto sector veteran had earlier held important positions, including President of AIAM, Automotive Research Association of India (ARAI), Indo-German Chamber of Commerce (IGCC), Automotive Component Manufacturers Association of India (ACMA) and Mahratta Chamber of Commerce, Industries & Agriculture (MCCIA).

He joined the Board of Force Motors in 1975 and led the company as managing director till 2009. Force Motors is a pioneer in the automobile industry in India for the last 60 years and manufactures Tempo three-wheeler auto rickshaws, Matadors, and also makes engines for BMW and Mercedes-Benz.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

three × four =